"indian ex-servicemen movement (iesm)" OR "indian ex-servicemen movement" OR "iesm" Indian Ex Servicemen Movement


Indian Ex-Servicemen Movement (IESM) is an "All India Federation of Ex Servicemen's organizations" and individual veterans of the Indian ArmyNavy and Air Force. IESM was established in August 2008, in the wake of the UPA Government decision to implement Sixth Central Pay Commission, which depressed military pays and pensions, and ranks, relative to civilian Government employees, especially in the Ministry of Defence and Police led security services. It has been at the forefront in identifying and advocating veteran causes, principally issues affecting veteran honor and izzat, and the implementation of One Rank One pension for the armed forces of India. Its founder member is Lt Colonel Inderjit Singh, former Commanding Officer 14 Grenadiers, who retired from the army in 1978.


The stated aims of the IESM are: to serve as an umbrella organization for all Ex-Servicemen of India; provide a unified veteran voice on issues of national interest; serve as a forum for raising and discussing challenges faced by veterans; play 'constructive role in nation-building activities; promote and support IESM causes, including those affecting ESM Widows, war wounded, and injured; and render assistance and advice to veterans on matters of pension, health coverage and benefits, and legal issues.



Governing Body (GB)

IESM has a federal structure with units at the National, State and District levels. The highest decision-making body is called the governing body, for which elections are held every three years. The last election was held on 16 November 2014 in PuneMaharashtra. The Election was conducted by the election unit headed by Brig HSN Sastri. Soon after the election of the Governing body, it elected a committee for the day-to-day running of the organisation.[1] The current composition of the GB is as follows:

Name and designation District, City State Remarks
Maj Gen Satbir Singh Gurgaon Haryana  
Gp Capt VK Gandhi Noida UP  
Commander SS Ahuja, IN Noida UP  
Wg Cdr CK Sharma Delhi Delhi  
Cdr Ravi Pathak Pune Maharashtra  
Col Pronoy Sengupta Pune Maharashtra  
Maj Gen PK Renjen Gurgaon Haryana  
Col Anil Koul Gurgaon Haryana  
Brig CS Vidyasagar Secunderabad Andhra Pradesh  
Maj Gen AJB Jaini Ghaziabad UP  
Hony Lt Kameshwar Pandey   Bihar  
Col Kirit Joshipura   Gujarat  
Hony Capt Jai Singh Rathee Jhajjhar Haryana  
Sub Maj Markandey Singh Ghazipur UP  
Hav Dina Nath Varanasi UP  
Col RP Chaturvedi Noida UP  
Mrs Anuradha Deo w/o Maj SM Deo Nagpur Maharashra  
Sgt Prakash Narain Pandey Kanpur UP  
Brig Harwant Singh Mohali Punjab  
Col Vijay Gaekwad Kolhapur Maharashtra  


Executive Committee

No Rank and name appointment remarks
1 Maj Gen Satbir Singh, SM Offg Chairman  
2 Maj Gen PK Renjen,AVSM Vice Chairman  
3 Wg Cdr CK Sharma Treasurer  
4 Gp Capt VK Gandhi VSM General Secretary  
5 Brig CS Vidyasagar Joint General Secretary  



Indian Ex-Servicemen Movement to render assistance to veterans, and its members, is organised into three units. These are the Pension Division, Ex-servicemen Contributory Health Scheme, and Legal Division, which includes Veterans Anil Bakhshi, Col Ramath, and Maj Navdeep Singh



IESM has a full-time membership of 20455, including army 15820, airforce 3032, navy 1527, and civilians 52. Its active members belong to all Indian states including Delhi, Haryana, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka, Punjab, Himachal PradeshMaharashtra, Jammu and Kashmir, KeralaChandigarhMizoram, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, Odisha. The headquarters of IESM is located at 543, Sector 23, GurgaonHaryana, Pin 122017.